Happy International Women’s Day!

579366-PLVZ61-60
Credit to Freepik.com

In honor of this amazing day, I choose to celebrate the two women in my life who I thank Goddess for everyday. I hope I honor these women well.

First off, I would like to celebrate my mother, Deidre.

My beautiful Mamala, as I like to call her. She loves peacocks, llamas, and her family. She is a breath of fresh air and gives the absolute best hugs. I tell her when I’m sad, Mom hugs are truly the best medicine. She has been with me through thick and thin. She had to hold it all together when I was born and the doctors told her, “All we can do is make her comfortable.” Doctor gave me a death sentence and my mother never gave up. Whenever she wasn’t at work, she was at the hospital with me, vowing to believe I would make it. Thirty-one years later, here I am. I’ve been able to enjoy every beautiful moment between a mother and daughter. I can talk to my mom about anything and I do mean anything. She is my #1 cheerleader and my bestest friend. On more than one occasion, my friends have called her “Mom” because of how loving and accepting she is. I came out to her in high school as bisexual(I now refer to myself as pansexual) and she was surprised at first, which was to be expected. But ever since then, my mother has never called me out of my name or judged me for the genders that I dated(the people I dated are a whole different story). Without my mother, I would not be alive and walking this planet today and she deserves the best in every aspect and facet of her life. I vow to bestow that upon her for the rest of my life, as she has made my life even more beautiful for simply existing in it.

Secondly, I would like to celebrate my best friend, Moxie.

I first met my best friend in 2013 when we worked together at a chain liquor store. From the moment I met her, I knew she was my kind of woman. She was loud, proud, and the very essence of a kindred spirit. I can remember stocking shelves with her for the first time and I had a sudden thought about the walk-in cooler. I said to her, “What if someone got caught bangin in the walk-in?” She appropriately responded, “It might be me, so keep a lookout.” I knew she was the one. From that day on, we were close as hell. In Christmas of 2013, she purchased a copy of my book, and asked me to autograph it. If that’s not the sweetest thing ever, then I don’t know what is. She is the one who lifts me up, who tells me when I need to shut the fuck up, and makes me laugh with just one glance. We have nicknames for each other, she is Scrubs and I’m Black Scrubs. We have the best inside jokes, the best one includes superglue. Once, when she was fixing one of her press-on nails at work and was using nail glue. I think I had asked for something and she handed it to me, unknowingly putting the sticky substance on it. I put it on my desk with no problem, but when I went to open my hand back up, two of my fingers were stuck together. So I said, “Why are my fingers stuck together?”, to which she responded to by laughing maniacally. My best friend superglued my goddamn fingers together. It just goes to show you we are metaphorically and literally stuck with each other.

For all my ladies out there, I want to wish you a very very very Happy International Women’s Day. Make sure to tell the ladies in your life how much they mean to you today and everyday.

xoxo, Elle

Leave a comment