New Music: Thirty Seconds to Mars

The world has waited since their 2013 album LOVE, LUST, FAITH + DREAMS for any sign of new music. We were then treated to the release of ‘Walk on Water’ last year, a song that is nothing less than inspiring and the music video is breathtaking. Earlier this year, the band gave us ‘Dangerous Night’ which a heart-wrenching song about falling in love with undertones of darkness.

And today, the band released their new album, America.


I have listened to the album back to back twice because the song list is so poignant. As proof that we needed this album, the songs hit very close to home in their own ways. I  was pleasantly surprised by ‘One Track Mind’ featuring A$AP Rocky. While this may seem like an odd pairing, the song has an undertone of quasi-trap music, and a bold, sexy set of lyrics that draws you in like a homing beacon. Another track featuring Halsey, ‘Love Is Madness’ is another haunting love story with a beat reminiscent of their song ‘Hurricane’, they are both deliciously sexy and frightening.

The cover art has the names ‘KIM, JUSTIN, JESUS, MICHAEL, MICKEY, DONALD’ in a hot pink background. But if you were looking for a variant album cover, the band has a generator for you to create your own album cover with six words or phrases for you pleasure. Where I created this:


I love Pokémon, okay?

The track list for AMERICA is listed below:

  1. Walk on Water
  2. Dangerous Night
  3. Rescue Me
  4. One Track Mind (feat. A$AP Rocky)
  5. Monolith
  6. Love Is Madness (feat. Halsey)
  7. Great Wide Open
  8. Hail to the Victor
  9. Dawn Will Rise
  10. Remedy
  11. Live Like a Dream
  12. Rider

I am a very big fan of this band, even though I had not heard of them until my first semester at college in August 2005. Their album, A Beautiful Lie, had been released that month. It all started the first time I heard The Kill, 13 years later I am still in awe of them.

AMERICA was released by Interscope Records on April 6th, 2018. Tickets for The Monolith Tour now on their tour page. The album is now available on the band’s website, Spotify, Amazon Music, iTunes, Google Play, and wherever music is sold near you.

xoxo, Elle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s